NASTF Information Requests

Tracking: 121 Status: Closed
State: NJ Name: Nick
Category of Request: Other or Non-Vehicle Specific Manufacturer: VOLVO

Inquiry
Have you checked the OEM website?
No
Description of Repair unable to perform
Description of Information not available
Description of steps taken to obtain information (help/contact function on website, websites, etc.)
I do NOT feel that my complaint was understood or addressed in any way. I wrote an email response (shown below) to the email I recieved from Volvo, but did not recieve any response. After checking back on the existing reports I see that the complaint was closed. How can the complaint be closed if nothing was resolved? To whom it may concern, This is in reply to the response that was emailed to me after placing a NASTF complaint regarding VIDA. I don't feel my concerns were completely understood or addressed. As you stated in your reply, "To add further flexibility to the VIDA application and to help minimize the cost to our users, Volvo's VIDA provides the ability to upgrade your subscription.....The VIDA application is offered in the following configurations: Parts Information Parts and Service Information Parts, Service and Diagnostics Parts, Service, Diagnostics and Software Download capability." If parts, parts/service, and parts/service/ diagnostics are available as separate subscriptions, then why is the diagnostic application not available as a separate subscription? If the diagnostic application was available separately, then you really could help to "...minimize the cost to your users." Since you offer the convenient option to "upgrade" an existing subscription, a technician could purchase a diagnostic application only, then "upgrade" to parts and service information if that was necessary to repair that particular vehicle. There are many cases were parts and service information are NOT required to properly repair a Volvo vehicle. Sometimes only the ability to scan control modules, clear fault codes and activate certain components are necessary to diagnose and verify a repair. Why would I need parts and service information if all I needed to do was clear an SRS light after a technician accidentally disconnected a restraints system component without first disconnecting the battery? Further, why would ANY shop call me to clear that SRS light for an $83.00 short term (parts/service/diagnostics) subscription in addition to my service fee when the local Volvo dealer will send out a technician for $65.00 to do the same. The price of the current minimum diagnostic based subscription is simply too high to compete with the local Volvo dealers. I have no problem paying for factory information when necessary. I have no problem paying for factory scan tools (I currently own 9 factory tools). But if Volvo dealerships are sending out technicians to do the same jobs I am performing for LESS THAN I CAN BUY A SHORT TERM SUBSCRIPTION FOR, then there is a major fault with the VIDA pricing. It is making the local Volvo dealers a monopoly in repairing Volvo vehicles. This is a serious concern that needs to be addressed. The vehicle diagnostics application is shown in the subscription price breakdown as a separate cost, so why can't it be offered as a stand alone subscription that can be upgraded if necessary? Nick Del Rocco Somerset Mobile Diagnostics I hope to recieve more than a generic response to a valid complaint this time. It is a complete price gouge to charge a minimum of $83.00 each time the factory Volvo tool must be used. This complaint is about access to the scan tool, not access to repair information.
Other Comments or Concerns
Notes
Mary Hutchinson - 3/19/2007 11:47:21 AM
Thank you for your recent request to the National Automotive Service Task Force (NASTF), regarding Volvo service information. According to our records, your request was forwarded to the proper contact at Volvo Cars of North America, LLC, who responded on February 20. You filed a follow-up request on February 23, essentially restating the same complaint in the context of Volvo service information pricing. As you are aware the mission of NASTF is to facilitate the identification and correction of gaps in the availability and accessibility of automotive service information, service training, diagnostic tools and equipment, and communications for the benefit of automotive service professionals. As an association of industry stakeholders, it is NASTF’s policy to comply strictly with all federal and state anti-trust legal requirements. It is inappropriate and possibly illegal for NASTF to discuss or negotiate the pricing of goods and services provided by a manufacturer or other service provider. In reviewing your request, we are unable to find that the service information you seek is either unavailable or inaccessible. We, therefore, consider this Service Information Request closed. However, in the interest of improved communication, we are passing your request through the proper channels at Volvo Cars of North America, LLC along with a copy of this response. An additional resource for you might be to contact Holly Pugliesi at the Environmental Protection Agency. The EPA has certain regulations regarding the availability and accessibility of service information specifically pertaining to vehicle emissions compliance.
Home