NASTF Information Requests

Tracking: 120 Status: Closed
State: NJ Name: John
Category of Request: Other or Non-Vehicle Specific Manufacturer: VOLVO

Inquiry
Have you checked the OEM website?
No
Description of Repair unable to perform
NO Email RESPONSE FROM VOLVO after a corporate Volvo letter was sent out for SERVER SCAN tool access. All of these Volvo scan tool complaints on the NASTF site SHOULD NOT be closed by NASTF themselves when NOTHING still has not been resolved. The issue still stands that Volvo ONLY allows a FORCED 3-Day scanner subsrciption of $84 with a FORCED subscription for purchasing Parts/Service info/let's not forget Handling Fees for an extra $20 for a grand total of $104 to reflect their corporate post without a contact name involved as follows: VOLVO SAYS: "In an attempt to provide a flexible application Volvo offers an array of VIDA subscription configurations as well as access duration periods. These access duration periods are and are described as (1) Short-Term access (24-72 hours), (2) Mid-Term access (30 days) and (3) Long-Term (365 days). To comply with the regulation requirements Volvo has provided a three-tiered access for our service information. In addition to the three-tiered access Volvo provides a flexible application configuration to meet our users' needs. The VIDA application is offered in the following configurations; Parts Information Parts and Service Information Parts, Service and Diagnostics Parts, Service, Diagnostics and Software Download capability " You show me short term of 24 hour access for diagnostics to meet my needs. I DO NOT NEED parts or service information to simply reset an air bag light! I suggest NASTF revisit ALL the VOLVO scanner complaints and reset them back to UNRESOLVED because nothing has been acomplished but letting Volvo set the standards to undermining the diagnostic service of every auto business in the world by building the First Sever Scan tool. John Anello, President Auto Tech On Wheels Montclair , NJ
Description of Information not available
Description of steps taken to obtain information (help/contact function on website, websites, etc.)
Other Comments or Concerns
Notes
Mary Hutchinson - 3/19/2007 11:42:40 AM
Thank you for your recent request to the National Automotive Service Task Force (NASTF), regarding Volvo service information. According to our records, your request was forwarded to the proper contact at Volvo Cars of North America, LLC, who responded on February 20. You filed a follow-up request on February 22, essentially restating the same complaint in the context of Volvo service information pricing. As you are aware the mission of NASTF is to facilitate the identification and correction of gaps in the availability and accessibility of automotive service information, service training, diagnostic tools and equipment, and communications for the benefit of automotive service professionals. As an association of industry stakeholders, it is NASTF’s policy to comply strictly with all federal and state anti-trust legal requirements. It is inappropriate and possibly illegal for NASTF to discuss or negotiate the pricing of goods and services provided by a manufacturer or other service provider. In reviewing your request, we are unable to find that the service information you seek is either unavailable or inaccessible. We therefore consider this Service Information Request closed. However, in the interest of improved communication, we are passing your request through the proper channels at Volvo Cars of North America, LLC along with a copy of this response. An additional resource for you might be to contact Holly Pugliesi at the Environmental Protection Agency. The EPA has certain regulations regarding the availability and accessibility of service information specifically pertaining to vehicle emissions compliance.
Home